Joint boards to meet March 13-23 Cowper appoints 3 to fish board

Gov. Steve Cowper recently announced three appointments to the Board of Fisheries and said that no change will be made in the membership of the Board of Game.

Gary Slaven of Petersburg, Joe Demmert Jr. of Ketchikan and Mike Haggren of Kodiak have been named to three-year terms on the Board of Fisheries, completing the membership of the seven-person regulatory body.

Slaven, 36, has been a commercial fisherman since 1963 and has owned a vessel since 1973. He was a delegate to the U.S.-Canada Salmon Treaty negotiations for two years and is currently vice chairman of the Alaska delegation to the Pacific Salmon Commission established by the treaty. Slaven has been director or officer of the Alaska Trollers Association during the last seven years. He is a member of the United Fishermen of Alaska and of the Northern Southeast Chapter of the Aquaculture Association.

Demmert, 60, has fished for 50 years and has owned his own vessel since 1950. He served on the former joint Board of Fisheries and Game from 1970 to 1974 and was chairman the last three years.

Between 1980 and 1983, he was a voting member of the North Pacific Fisheries Management Council and was an advisor in the U.S.-Canada Salmon Treaty negotiations from 1971 until an agreement was signed in 1983. Demmert holds permits for the power troll fishery, the purse seine salmon fishery for salmon and herr⁷ ing and for the halibut longline fishery.

Haggren, 34, has been involved in commercial fishing since he was 12. He has fished for gillnet salmon, crab, halibut, herring and bottomfish.

He is a former director of the Alaska draggers and the Oregon-based Western Fish Boat Owners Association and has worked on the conference board of the International Halibut Commission.

Remaining Board of Fisherihs members include Bix Bonney of Anchorage, Val Angasan of Dillingham,

(Continued on Page Nine)

Board of Game unchanged

(Continued from Page One)

Ernest Carter of Fairbanks and Jesse Foster of Quinhagak.

The membership of the Board of Game remains unchanged.

"The Board of Game has been conscientious and credible, and it makes sense to maintain the stability and consistency of its membership," Cowper said.

Three members whose terms expired in January have been reappointed - Joel Bennett of Juneau, Nicholas Jackson of Gakona and Sidney Huntington of Galena.

Other members are Fish and Game Commissioner Don Collinsworth, Brenda Johnson of Nome, Jay Massey of Girdwood, Sara Scanlon of Anchorage and Victor Van Ballenberghe of Fairbanks.

The boards meet jointly March 13-23 at the Hotel Captain Cook in Anchorage to make determinations regarding the application of the new subsistence law in some rural areas.