Five Alaskans receive scholarships for study in education degree programs

Five Alaskans have been awarded scholarships by the Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education for study in education degree programs under the new Federal Congressional Teacher Scholarship Program, established by Congress to encourage outstanding high school graduates to pursue teaching careers.

This year's recipients are Kay Anderson of Craig, a senior at Walla Walla College in Washington; Sandra Erlich of Fairbanks, a junior at the University of Alaska-Fairbanks; Terri Hadley of Buckland, a junior at Sheldon Jackson College; Peter Hilts of Seldovia, a junior at Biola University in California; and Margie Karasti of Anchorage, a senior at the University of Alaska-Anchorage.

Those who want more information about applying for the scholarships up to \$5,000 for each academic year, based on financial need — may contact: Assistant Director for Programs, Alaska Commission on Postsecondary Education, Box FP, Juneau 99811.

Scholarship recipients must, upon graduation, teach full-time for a twoyear period for each year of scholarship funds received.