Alaskans elected to BLM Council

WASHINGTON — The Alaska Congressional delegation announced today that eighteen Alaskans have been selected to serve on the Anchorage and Fairbanks Bureau of Land Management District Advisory Councils.

The Advisory Councils are composed of a broad section of citizen interests. They work in conjunction with BLM district managers, and make recommendations to the BLM on a

wide range of policy issues.

Selected to the Anchorage District Advisory Council were: Robert Arwezon, Dennis Bromley, Anne Brown and Sally Suddock of Anchorage; June Degnan of Unalakleet; Roy Ewan of Copper Center; James Glaspell of Eagle River; Ron Rosander of Fairbanks; and, Peter Snow of McGrath.

Selected to the Fairbanks District Advisory Council were: Tom Eardley, Margorie Mayo, Steven Renz, Robert Peterson, Alan Epps, and Rick Schikora of Fairbanks; James Frey of Gakona; Woodrow Johansen of College; and, Robert A. Murray of Anderson.

"The District Advisory councils

(Continued on Page Four)

BLM Council

(Continued from Page Three)

promote citizen participation in land management issues in Alaska," Young said. "They play a vital role in ensuring that local concerns are taken into account in any management decision."

"These 18 Alaskans are very qualified to serve on the BLM advisory councils," Senator Murkowski said. "It's an important function of good government to have dedicated residents participate in these policy decisions."

Alaskans bring to the BLM District Advisory Councils will help assure that the land management concerns of a broad spectrum of the people of our state will be considered when decisions have to be made." Senator Stevens said.