Two file for

District 21

By Stan Jones Kotzebue Correspondent

The winner of the district 21 seat in the Alaska House of Representatives will be selected by the voters in August, rather than having to wait until November to learn his fate. Tat's because only two men filed for the seat before the dealine of June 2, and both are Democrats.

The two candidates are Al Adams, president of the Kotzebue village corporation, and Morgan Solomon of Barrow. As a result, the winner of the democratic primary in August will be the representative from district 21 - which extends from Kotzebue to the North Slope - to the House next year. The seat is now occupied by Leo Schaeffer, Junior, who is not seeking re-election.

And the race for district 22 is already settled. Only one candidate filed for it: Jack Fuller of Nome, the incumbent.