FNA Elects Richard Frank President

Richard Frank, one of the originators of the Tanana Chiefs' Conference, was elected president of the Fairbanks Native Association this week.

Other officers are outgoing president Jules Wright as the new vice-president; Mrs. Betty Johnson, secretary; Miss Rhoda Foreland, corresponding secretary; and Mrs. Georgiana Lincoln, treasurer.

Hugh Fate, Ralph Perdue, Gerald Ivey, Mrs. Dorothy Perdue, and Nicholas Deely were named to the board of directors. The dficers, and

(continued on page 6)

FNA Elects

(continued from Page I) Tanana Chiefs' president John Sackett, also serve on the board.

Ralph Perdue was selected as chairman of the board and will be presiding officer in the absence of Frank and Wright.

FNA created a special committee to study in detail Native land problems, and asked the officers and directors to prepare a statement of policy on the revised Alaska Federation of Natives.

Although they recognized the need for a statewide Native organization, the members wanted a further study on the changes made in AFN's constitution and by-laws this spring, a Fairbanks Native Association officer reported.

The statement of policy will be reported to the Association at its next general meeting.

The FNA also voted to send \$200 to the Copper Valley School to help it meet its winter fuel bill. In addition, eight members volunteered to donate \$10 apiece.