AFN members elected for contingent to represent villages throughout state

Delegates to the Alaska Federation of Natives 1986 annual convention elected members of a new 12-member contingent to AFN's full board of directors.

The Statewide Village Board represents the village membership of AFN from each of the 12 regions in Alaska.

The full board now includes 37 members: 13 for the Land Claims Board, representing Native shareholders of the 12 regional corporations created by the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act; 12 for the Human Resources Board, representing the regional non-profit organizations; and 12 for the Statewide Village Board.

"It is time that the villages take an active role in making decisions and setting policies which will ultimately

Janie Leask, AFN president.

The newly elected members of the

board and the villages within each

region include Sherry Spray Ruberg,

Aleutian; Ron Brower, Arctic Slope; Ken Shoogukwruk, Bering Straits; Joe Chythlook, Bristol Bay; Paul Manumik, Calista; Luke Borer, Chugach; Mitch Demientieff, Doyon; Ralph Eluska, Koniag; Frank Stein, NANA; and Ivan Gamble, Sealaska.

The recent restructuring to include village representation was in response to a resolution passed during the 1984 convention, which called for a broader participation and representation in AFN.

Cook Inlet and Ahtna villages have

yet to select their board

representatives.