

WASHINGTON, D. C. — Present at ceremonies at the approval of the first three regional corporations established under the Native Claims Settlement Act by the Department of the Interior were — L to R: Harrison Loesch, Assistant Secretary of Interior; Alaska's Senator Ted Stevens; Elizabeth Beans, front; Dave Dickson, rear; William Tyson; Fred Notti; Robert Nick; Phillip, Guy. The three regional corporations

represent over one-third of the Natives in Alaska. They are NANA Regional Corporation, Inc.—Northwest Alaska Native Association (Kotzebue); Calista Corporation—Association of Village Council Presidents (southwest coast, all villages in the Bethel area, including all villages on the lower Yukon River and the Lower Kuskokwim River); and Cook Inlet Region, Inc.—Cook Inlet Association (Kenai, Tyonek, Eklutna, Illiamna).