AFN Citizen of the Year nominations being sought

NOMINATIONS SOUGHT FOR ALASKA FEDERATION OF NATIVES "CITIZEN OF THE YEAR"

The board of Directors of the Alaska Federation of Natives, Inc. is seeking nominations from individuals as well as village, regional, and statewide Native organizations for the 1986 AFN Citizen Of The Year Award.

In the past, these awards have beed presented to such distinguished Native leaders as John Sackett, Willie Kayasulie, Herman Schroeder, Roger Lang, Frank Degnan, Emil Notti, Howard Rock, Chief Andrew Isaac, Della Keats, Richard Jansen, Eben Hobson, Willie Hensley, Paul Tiulana, Roy Ewan and Byron Mallott.

The presentation of this award has provided the Native community with an opportunity to formally and publicly recognize those individuals who have devoted a large portion of their lives to the objectives of AFN as outlined in our constitution:

 To promote pride on the part of the Natives of Alaska in their heritage and traditions;

 To preserve the customs, folklore and art of the Native

 To promote the physical, economic, and social wellbeing of Alaska Natives;

To discourage and over-

the inequities which such prejudice creates; and To promote good government by reminding those who govern and those governed of their joint and mutual responsibilities.

If you have an individual you would like to nominate for this distinct award, please forward your nomination and a brief paragraph discribing your candidate — a bit of personal background and why you feel this individual should be nominated. It is imperative the background information be sent along with the nomination as the AFN Board of Directors, when making their decision, need to have the full profile in order to have a basis for their decision.

The AFN Board of Directors will be meeting to select the individual to receive this award prior to the convention. We are asking that all nominations arrive at the AFN offices no later that Friday October 3, 1986. Please forward your nomination to:

AFN, INC.

Citizens of the Year

411 W. 4th Ave., Suite 301 Anch., AK. 99501

Attnention: Janie Leask Should you have any questions concerning the award, requirments, or process, please contact our offices (274-3611).