## 1986 Convention Events

## **Tentative Agenda**

• • Thursday, Oct.16 • •

8:30 a.m.

· Welcome Dance 9:00

 Call to order—Co-chairman Oliver Leavitt Invocation

9:20

 Welcome Address Mayor Tony Knowles

9:30

 Welcome Address — Governor Bill Sheffield

9:50

 Chairman's Report AFN Co-Chairmen Oliver Leavitt and Glenn Fredericks

10:05

 President's Report — Janie Leask 10:20

• Keynote Presentation — Byron Mallot

11:00

 Senator Ted Stevens 11:20

· Ross Swimmer, Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs, Department of Interior

11:40

• Elders' Report — Alfred Wells 11:50

Youth Report

**LUNCH BREAK** 1:00 p.m.

Dancers

1:30 Credentials Committee Report 1:45

 Alaska Native Coalition — Willie Kayasulie, Chairman

2:00

 Inuit Circumpolar Conference 2:15

AFN SLIDE PRESENTATION: "20 YEARS OF PROGRESS" Introduction of AFN Presidents 2:55

· Nominations for Chairman 3:00

• 1991 Status Report

**CONVENTION RECESS** 

7:00 p.m.

 Cultural Celebration — Egan Convention Center

•• Friday, Oct. 17 •• 8:30 a.m.

Dancers

9:00

 Call-to-Order — Co-Chairman Glenn Fredericks Announcements 9:15

 CONVENTION REPORT: RESTRUCTURING OF AFN Glenn Fredericks, Chmn, Interim Village Board

9:45

 Senator Frank Murkowski 10:05

 National Congress of American Indians

10:25

 PANEL DISCUSSION: IMPACT OF FEDERAL BUDGET CUTS ON ALASKA Dr. Everett Rhodes, IHS Robert Clark Jake Lestenkof, BIA Suzv Erlich

Caleb Pungowiyi Spud Williams

11:15

 Panel Discussion: Impact of State Revenue decline and budget cuts on Alaska Senator John Sackett Senator Frank Ferguson Representative Al Adams

**LUNCH BREAK** 1:00 p.m.

Dancers

1:30

 Announcements Chairman Candidate Speeches 2:00

 Convention Report: AFN Committee on Tribal Governments

BREAK TO REGIONAL CAUCUSES **CONVENTION RECESS** 

7:00 p.m.

 Cultural Celebration — Egan Convention Center

• • Saturday, Oct. 18 • • . 8:30 a.m.

Dancers

•Call to Order - Co-Chairman Oliver Leavitt Announcements

9:15

 Resolutions Committee Report RESOLUTIONS

**LUNCH BREAK** 

1:00 p.m.

 Congressman Don Young 1:20

 Presentation of Presidents Awards 1:50

· Presenttion of AFN Citizens of the Year Awards

2:30

 Election of 1986-87 AFN Chairman

· (Announcement of Village Board if applicable) Closing Remarks

 1985-86 AFN Co-Chairmen Oliver Leavitt, Glenn Fredericks

• 1986-87 AFN Co-Chairman AFN President Janie Leask

Benediction

Closing Dances

4:00 CONVENTION ADJOURNMENT 6:30-7:30

 Tundra Times Reception 8:00

 Tundra Times Banquet 9:00

Ice Bloc Fundraising Dance