

LEADERS GATHER – Many of the regional Native leaders who recently attended the annual full-board meeting of the Alaska Federation of Natives pictured here will play a key role in choosing the next president of the AFN. The AFN board meeting, held in mid-December, included representatives of both profit and non-profit regional Native corporations. From left to right, board members or their designated representatives included Mike Zacharof, for the Aleutian-Pribliof Islands Association; George Walters, President, Bering Straits Native Corporation; Jack Wick (behind Walters), President, Koniag, Inc.; Byron Mallott, President, ANF; G.R. Anderson, Jr. (center), President, Chugach Natives, Inc.; Clifford Black, Executive Vice President, AFN; Carl Jack (obscured, with hands folded), President, Association of Village Council President; Robert Rude, Cook Inlet Region, Inc.; and Frank R. Peterson, President, Kodiak Area Native Association (right, foreground). Other representatives, no pictured, include Kathy Anderson, North Pacific Rim; Martin B. Moore, Calista; Patricia Ravsten, Copper River Native Association; Herbert Smeleer, Ahtna, Inc.; Jake Lestenkof, President, Cook Inlet Native Association; Robert Newlin, Chairman of the Board, NANA Regional Corp.; Ted Angasan, Bristol Bay Native Association; Spud William, President, Tanana Chiefs Conference; Charles Johnson, Executive Vice President; Kawerak, Inc.; Pat Pletnikoff, Executive Director, Aleutian-Pribilof Islands Association; and Lydia L. Robert, North Pacific Rim. The AFN directors, meeting on January 11 are expected to choose a new president to replace outgoing President Byron Mallott. The Tundra Times has learned that leading contenders for the slot include B. Agnes Brown, Tyonek President, and Morris Thompson, former Vice President of Northweest Alaskan Pipeline Company