#### ANCSA Review

## Regional and Village Corporations

### Doyon elects new members

Doyon, Limited shareholders recently elected new and incumbent board members at their annual meeting last month. Newly elected was Miranda Wright, Fairbanks, and incumbents Peter Snow, Jr., McGrath, Frederick Stickman, Jr., Nulato, and Robert M. Silas, Fairbanks, will each serve three year terms.

A special shareholders meeting will take place April 22, 1995 in Fairbanks to vote on three main issues:

- Should the board of directors have a management slate;
- Should there be term limits for board members; and
- Should Doyon, Limited declare
  a \$50 per share dividend?

#### The Aleut Corp. announces annual meet, seeks college fund applicants

The Aleut Corporation has announced that the 1995 Annual Meeting of the Shareholders will be October 14, and for 1996, the annual shareholders meeting will be

held October 12, 1996. At the last quarterly meeting of the board of directors, Ruel Holmberg, Sand Point, was elected chairman, Alice Petrivelli, Atka, was elected president, Sandra Moller, Unalaska, as vice chair, Elary Gromoff, Jr., St. Paul, as vice president, Dimitri Philemonof, St. George, as the Secretary/Treasurer, and David Nevzuroff, King Cove, as the assistant secretary/treasurer.

Shareholders wishing to run for the board of directors of The Aleut Corporation must submit a nominating petition before Tuesday, August 15, 1995. Applications can be obtained by calling (907) 561-4300 or toll free at 1-800-232-4882.

Scholarship applications for The Aleut Foundation must be received by May 15, 1995. Scholarships are available for those TAC shareholders who would like financial assistance for college or vocational training. Further information can be obtained by contacting the Alaska State Education Incentive Grant

(SEIG), A.W. Brindle Memorial Scholarship Loan Program, Alaska Chapters of the American Indian Science & Engineering Society and American Indian Development Foundation, as well as The Aleut Foundation and The Aleut Corporation.

# Ukpeagvik Corp. gets new leaders

On March 13, the Ukpeagvik Inupiat Corporation (UIC) Board of Directors selected Max Ahgeak as its new president. Ahgeak succeeds Ronald H. Brower, Sr. The board also elected Sally Brower to the position of chairperson, succeeding Nate Olemaun, Jr.

Ahgeak has served on the UIC board since 1986 and has been the president of UIC Construction since 1990. He has also served on the boards of many of UIC's subsidiaries and affiliate companies during the past 10 years, including Piquniq Management Corporation, Umialik

Insurance, and Barrow Technical Services. He has been a journeyman electrician since 1980 and a member of Local 1547 of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.

Sally Brower has been a community leader in Barrow for several years, serving as a member of the City Council and the utility board as well as the board of UIC. She has held numerous management positions with the North Slope Borough.

Alaska-based corporation, with annual consolidated revenues of approximately \$80,000,000. It is active in commercial real estate management and development, and has wholly-owned subsidiaries involved in construction, engineering, marine transportation, environmental remediation and insurance. It also has holdings in companies involved in cellular phone service, military base operating services, and gas field production.