CAP Board of Directors Holds First Regular Meet of the Year

The Board of Directors of the Rural Alaska Community Action Program held their first regular meeting of the year in Juneau.

Board Chairman Elmer Armstrong called the two day meeting to order on February 4. Major actions taken by the Board included the hiring of John Shively as Executive Director; appointment of Nels A. Anderson, Jr., as Acting Deputy Director.

The Board unanimously adopted resolutions presented by the Kodiak Area Community Development Corporation which concerned:

1) Request to the Alaska State Legislature to appropriate at least \$10,000 to each of the 9 regional development corporations of RurAL CAP for fiscal year 1971-1972. The request was based primarily on the corporations' need to obtain additional funding for the further development of social, economic, educational and village organizational activities of rural Alaskans.

2) Request that the state revenue sharing formula be changed to give consideration to unincorporated communities so that they may participate in being recipients of state revenue funds.

3) Request directed to the Kodiak area legislators to introduce a bill amending Alaska Statute 29.25.030. (a) (1), to enable the incorporation of villages within an organized borough.

On other matters, the Board voted to accept RurAL CAP's OEO approved grant package for Program Year E (1971-72).

A motion was passed requesting that funds from the State Economic Opportunity Office Citizens' Participation grant be used for funding a staff member for the Rural Alaska Development Group to work on rural legislation during this legislative session.

The Board also voted that the RurAL CAP agency request the legislature to appropriate a sum of \$200,000 to the State Economic Opportunity Office to be used by RurAL CAP's regional development corporations for planning and/or implementation of economic development projects.

Also passed was a motion requesting the State Economic Opportunity Office to begin planning for use of Citizens' Participation money for the next program year around the Rural Alaska Development Group's unorganized borough concept.

New Board members who were seated at this meeting included: Mr. Caleb Pungowiyi, Representative for the Inpuiak Development Corporation: Mr. Jim Wilson, Representative for the Koyukon Development Corporation; Dr. Fred McGinnis, Commissioner, State Department of Health & Welfare;

Mr. Don Perkins, Director, Rural Development Agency; Mr. Eben Hopson, Special Assistant to the Governor; and Mr. Robert Renshaw, Mayor of Nome.