Rural students head for honors institute at UAF

Alaska high school students from rural communities will soon head for the University of Alaska Fairbanks Rural Alaska Honors Institute, accord-

ing to UAF.

The six-week academic honors program starts on the UAF campus today and runs through July 29. Alaska high school students will be joined by several international students from Greenland and from Canada's Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.

More than 40 students will partici-

pate in the program.

RAHI, which has been operating for seven years, is an intensive academic program designed to help prepare rural high school students for academic success in college. The program is aimed primarily at rural college-bound Alaska Native high school students between their junior and senior high school years, although this summer for the first time several graduated seniors also will attend.

Among those attending this year will be John Andrew and Cheryl Nicolai of Kwethluk, Kimberly Antoghame and Ruby Bushoo of Gambell, Masuk Casados of Point Hope, Michelle Christensen of Palmer, Gladys Downey of Ambler, Wayne Don of Mekoryuk, Patrick Dushkin of Unalaska, Ricky Echuk of Platinum

and Joyce Evon of Akiachak.

Others are Clarice Geffe and Verne Seum of Kiana, Monica Gustafson of Ruby, John Henry and Felicity Rivers of Stebbins, Diane Hildebrand of Nulato, Mary Jacob of Napaskiak, Jolene John and Thomas Julius of Toksook Bay, Kathryn Milligan-Monroe of Kotzebue, Jolene Nanouk and Dawn Wilson of Unalakleet, and Dominic Oyoumiek and Pricilla Washington of St. Michael.

Also attending are Karen Paul of Kwigillingok, Stanley Pete of Sheldon Point, Dewayne Rodin of Nome, Sophie Serge of Pitkas Point, Danny Sousok of Point Lay, Sharon Thompson of Kaktovik, William Thiemeyer of Koyuk, William Wallace of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Office Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Kotlik and Jensifer Office Waster of Ketchikan, Shirley Wasuli of Ketchikan, S

nifer Wentz of Juneau.

Expected from Greenland are Ester Jensen of Nuuk, Johanne Rosing of Qaqortoq and Bent Sorensen of Aasiaat.