LPSD inducts National Honor Society members

In a candlelight ceremony, appropriate for the festive celebration of student accomplishments, five new members were officially inducted into the Lake and Peninsula School District National Honor Society. The ceremony May 1 at Perryville School celebrated these selected students: Nancy Louise Anderson of Chignik Lagoon School; Sonnet Richele Alsworth, Yakaterina Nikolayevna Kondrashova. Dustin Mark Lang of Port Alsworth School, and Jeremy Franklin Skonberg of Chignik Bay School. Members were selected by the LPSD Faculty Council based upon their performance in attaining the highest standards of scholarship, service, leadership and character.

Perryville School principal Rolla Weber represented high school principals of LPSD and the entire country. He eloquently expressed his congratulations and appreciation to the National Association of Secondary School Principals for establishing the National Honor Society to recognize student achievement. Weber then officially lit the Candle of Knowledge from which the students' candles were ignited as symbols of their induction.

Senior students Rebecca Kosbruk (Perryville), Oxcenia O'Domin (Chignik Lake), Amber Lang (Port Alsworth), and Edward Lester (Newhalen) represented the chapter membership as they read the definitions of the National Honor Society standards of scholarship, character, service and leadership.

Keynote speaker Joann W. Lester recognized the accomplishments of individuals in history who dedicated a lifetime of service for the improvement of schools, communities, cities, states, nations and the world. She challenged others to become a part of this elite student leadership, where service above and beyond is what is expected.

The National Honor Society is one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for high school students. Chapters exist in three-fourths of the nation's high schools. Since 1921, millions of students have been selected for membership. Thousands of dollars in scholarships have been awarded to senior members since 1945 by the sponsoring organization, the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

The ceremony was followed by the LPSD prom, banquet and dance.