AFN panel supports sobriety

The Alaska Federation of Natives has established a two-year commission on alcohol and drug abuse to support Alaska's growing sobriety movement, according to Janie Leask, AFN president.

The "Alaska Native Blue Ribbon Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse" was created in response to a resolution passed by delegates to the 1988 AFN Convention in Fairbanks, Leask said.

The commission held its first meeting March 6.

"Positive activities to address

'Positive activities to address alcohol and drug abuse. . . are occurring. . . '

-Janie Leask

alcohol and drug abuse at the individual, family and community levels are occurring throughout the state," Leask said. "The commission intends to provide recognition and support to these vital efforts."

Commission members include Dr. Jim Berner, Esther Combs, Dennis DeGross, Roy Ewan, Anna Frank, Janie Leask, Ethel Lund, Doug Modig, Gordon Pullar, Maj. Gen. John Schaeffer and Sen. Johne Binkley, R-Bethel.

According to Leask, the commission is planning to launch a statewide media campaign at this October's AFN Convention to support and encourage the sobriety movement.