## Shareholders-Ahtna Holds Annual

Ahtna, Inc. held its first shareholders' meeting at Glennallen High School on April 13, 1974.

There were 627 shareholders represented by proxie or in person attending the meeting representing 57.6%.

The following 11 people were elected as directors: Robert Marshall; Christine Yazzie; Henry Bell; Lillian Boston; Lücille Brenwick; Mildred Buck; Nancy Craig; Harding Ewan; Roy Ewan; Harold Gene; and Ruby Johns. The board will elect their officers at their next board meeting.

President Robert Marshall in his statement to the shareholders: "Securing the passage of the Native Claims Settlement Act was the first long step taken together in a common purpose. But, it was only a small part of what we can now accomplish to realize the wealth offered by this land and the boundless energy of its people."

The Village Corporations of Chitina, Cantwell, Mentasta Lake, Tazlina, Copper Center, Gakona, and Gulkana held their shareholders' annual meeting during the month of March and April.

The election results of the Village Corporations are: Chitina-Henry Bell, President and Board member; Frank Billum, Sr., Vice-President and Board member; Mildred Buck, Secretary and Board member; Molly Billum, Treasurer; and William Buck, Board member.

Gulkana – Harding Ewan, President and Board member; Hazel Neeley, Vice-President; Eveline Neeley, Sccretary-Treasurer; Nicholas Jackson, Board member; Markle Ewan, Jr., Board member; Roy Ewan, Board member; and Luke Maxim, Board member.

Mentasta Lake – Leonard John, President and Board member; Ben John, Vice-President; Nancy Craig, Secretary-Treasurer; Molly Galbreath, Board member; Fred John, Sr., Board member; Nelson John, Board member; and Edith Smith, Board member.

Tazlina – Robert Marshall, President; Herbert Smelcer, Vice-President and Board member; Arlene Tibbits, Secretary and Board member; Marsha Major, Treasurer and Board member; Mae Marshall, Board member; and George Hobson, Board member.

Copper Center – Raymond Craig, President and Board member; Hector Ewan, Vice-President and Board member; Hana Kangas, Board member; Harry Johns, Sr., Board member; and Jake Miller, Board member.

Gakona – Harold Gene, President; Virginia Gene, Vice-President and Board member; Betty T y on e, Secretary-Treasurer; Frank Tyone, Board member; and Carold Holt, Board member.

Cantwell – Ruby John, President and Board member; Charles Hubbard, Vice-President and Board member; Margie Ewan, Secretary and Board member; Maggie Oliver, Treasurer and Board member; Eleanor Dementi, Board member; Bud Carlson, Board member; Henry Peters, Board member; Munson Nicklie, Board member; and Oley Nicklie, Jr., Board member.

Chistochina held their shareholders' annual meeting on Saturday, April 20 at the Chistochina School.