What Is 'SUN' Board?

The purpose of the Special Services, Upward Bound, and Native Studies (SUN) Advisory Board is to ensure that the University of Alaska provides adequate educational services to the rural and Alaskan Native student. The Advisory Board consists of 12 members including four students – Ray Alstrom, vice president; Sue Stevens, Julie Nickoli, secretary; and Irene Heckman. Four parents –John Pingayak, president; Emily Wilson with the other two yet to be chosen; four faculty and community members are Laura Bergt, Mary Jane Fate, Sen. John Sackett and Terry Tomzcak.

In addition to ensuring that educational and other services are provided by the university, the Advisory Board is responsible for reviewing all the proposals developed and submitted by Special Services, Upward Bound and Native Studies and will also accept and act as sponsors or advisory committee for proposals it considers worthy. The SUN board is also responsible for recommending general policies to the chancellor of the Northern Region, and participates in the interviewing of all applicants for positions in the three programs mentioned above.

The Native students are responsible for the creation of Native Studies introduced in 1970-71. Dr. Walter Soboleff who was the first director of Native Studies retired in 1974. The present director is Dennis Demmert.

At the SUN Board's meeting on Nov. 24, 1975, the members discussed at length classes presently administered under SOS headed by Mrs. Toni Jones and classes under Native Studies. One subject, or class-not yet offered to students, which drew strong interest was on Native Land Claims and it's effect on municipalities.

At the next meeting on Dec. 8, 1975, at 7 p.m. the SUN Board will discuss in detail these two items and take appropriate action.

The board meets the second Monday, every month, and the meetings are open to all interested students.