## Standard Alaska Scholarship recipients announced

ANCHORAGE — Standard Alaska Production Company announced that Kenneth R. Lewis, Jr. of Wrangell High School is the winner of a fouryear, \$16,000 Standard Alaska-Commissioner's Scholarship. Alaska's Commissioner of Education, Marshall Lind, selected Lewis from among the 25 winners in the Standard Alaska-Principals' Scholarship program.

Alstrom

Brunner

Eubank

Kairaiuak

Lee

Mathis

Mossis

Papp

Rodda

Sharp

Service

Nome-Beltz

The \$16,000 Standard Alaska-Commissioner's Scholarship was awarded in addition to the \$4,000 Lewis won in the Standard Alaska-Principals' Scholarship program.

This is the second year of the new scholarship program in which 25 graduating seniors from 25 Alaska schools are chosen by their respective principals to each be awarded \$4,000 over four years intains and the will

Standard Alaska President, George N. Nelson said, "Our scholarship program is responsive to the needs of the students who are able to use the funds at any accredited, post-secondary institution for the vocational or degree program of their choice.

"There are opportunities in Alaska for people with all sorts of skills,' Nelson continued.

The 25 students who were awarded scholarships are the following, listed with their schools and selecting principals.

The Standard Alaska Scholarship Program was developed in cooperation with the commissioner of education and the Alaska Association of Secondary School Principals (AASSP). The AASSP, through its board of directors, is also instrumental in the administration of the program. The board of AASSP respresents all of Alaska's school districts.

In making their scholarship award decisions, principals, the AASSP board and the commissioner of education used the following, non-weighted criteria; academic achievement. leadership potential, community/school involvement and financial need.

Standard Alaska's scholarship program provides for the 20 high schools with enrollments of 225 or more students to alternate annually in awarding ten of the 25 scholarships. These schools represent about two-thirds of Alaska's student population. The remaining 15 scholarships are awarded to students from Alaska's other 226 schools with graduating high school seniors.

Nelson added, "We will now have 50 students going to school on Standard Alaska scholarships. They will be pursuing degrees in such subjects as mathematics, education, computer science and medicine. We are proud to be helping."

## STUDENT

Norman G. Bouchard

Peggy Anne Brandt

Gretchen E. Charles

Elsie Rose Francis

Minnie Dora Guy

Charles Scott Higgins

Katherine M. Hocker

Jack Kanulie, Jr.

Kenneth R. Lewis

Paul Merculief, II

Jeanette N. Murphy

Jeffrey Allen Patrick

Hellen M. Wassman

K. Roberts

Marilyn

Julia C.

Jennifer

Phillip

Penny

Daryl

Maria

Rhoda

Paula

Chad

Λ.

Dominic

## SCHOOL

Adena Marcy Albert Walter Northway Sch. Alakanuk Schools Susitna Valley High Sitka High Homer High Barrow High Sand Point City Sch. St. Mary's Catholic H. Kwethluk High Ben Eilson Sr. High Juneau-Douglas High Chaputnguak High Togiak School High Palmer Wrangell High Monroe Catholic High E.L. "Bob" Bartlett H. Kenai Central High Bethel Regional High West Valley High Petersburg High Chugiak High Bartlett High

High

High

## PRINCIPAL

J. Neal Large James H. Riedlinger Jean A. Kalish LeRoy C. Demmert Lee Winn Roger L. Harms Liz Boario Sister Ann J. Pratt Kenneth R. Groves Elizabeth M. Motley Chris Bogden Glen T. Retherford Dorian Rose Charles A. Akers William L. Nankivel Nancy Cook Clifford Koivisto Paul Epperson Lon Winters Larry Martin Leigh S. Wright William E. Kuhlmann Robert L. Kelly Robert A. Hahn Robert G. Bellmore