Special Awards given at Annual Meeting

A number of individuals were recognized by various organizations at the Noatak Annual Meeting for their contributions to the people of the NANA region.

Search and rescue awards were given to: Clarence Wood, Ambler; Delbert Thomas, Buckland; Larry Westlake, Kiana; Jerry Norton, Kivalina; Warren Thompson, Kotzebue; Roland Ashby, Noatak; Thomas Pungalik, Sr., Noorvik; Jackie Commack, Selawik; Glenn Douglas, Shungnak; Ray Snyder, Kobuk; and Gibson Moto, Deering.

Alaska Airlines was presented a jade plaque from the people of the NANA region for their services and for helping in the transportation of Billy Mills to the NANA region. Billy Mills was presented a plaque to thank him for sharing his life's challenges with the students in the region for the past ten days.

Ilitqusiat awards were made by Billy Sheldon to recognize those who have worked for the benefit of others. Those receiving awards were: Walter Sampson, Thomas Punaglik, Sr., Skeeter Jepson, Larry Westlake, Wilfred Lane, and Dan Snyder, Sr.

John Schaeffer was presented with a jade plaque and an Eskimo mask by Janie Leask and Oliver Leavitt representing the Alaska Federation of Natives, with their special thanks to him for his efforts in serving all Alaskan Natives. Schaeffer also received a jade plaque from Chairman Robert Newlin on behalf of the NANA shareholders in appreciation for his 15 years of service to the people of NANA.

Door prizes were awarded to the following: \$500 (in person door prize) went to Lucy Smith, and \$100 each to Jonah Walton, Jr., Ethel Mills, Jackie Adams, Joanne Gregg, Lorena Sheldon, Frank Downey, Alice Burge, Stan Hawley, Cliff Jones, and Wanda Wesley. The \$500 door prize for those who voted by proxy went to Johnny R. Coffin, Jr., of Noorvik.

The prizes for the games and

(Continued on Page Three)

Special Awards

(Continued from Page Two) races held earlier in the day were then awarded. The winners in those various categories were:

Dog Races

Willie Goodwin2nd
Staley Foste3rd
ucy Nordelum4th
ohn Penn(Red lantern)

Football

Freshwater team

Foot Races

Women 29 & Under:



Walter Sampson, 1985 Shareholder of the Year presents Warren Thompson with a jade plaque in recognition of his contributions to Search and Rescue. photo by Allen W. Marquette

Ethel Mills
Women 30 & Over:
Lillian Johnson 1st Rachel Sherman 2nd Pauline Penland 3rd
Men 29 & Under:
Jay Walton1 stTom Geffee2ndLarry Westlake3rd
Men 30 & Over:
Steve Jackson
Girls Grades 1-9:
Phyllis Booth
Boys Grades 4, 5, 6:
Don Don Booth 1st Herbert Sheldon 2nd Mahlon Uhl, Jr. 3rd
Junior High:
Gilbert Mills, Jr. (only entrant)
Women 40 & Over:
Mildred Black lst Barbara Westley 2nd Minnie Morris 3rd
Crawl Race
Women 40 & Over:
Barbara Wesley