Northwest Arctic Borough Incorporation Information ELECTION DATE: May 20, 1986

ELIGIBILITY TO VOTE: You must be registered to vote with the state of Alaska and reside in the NANA region. As in all elections, you must have registered to vote at least 30 days in advance, or by April 21, 1986.

ABSENTEE BALLOTS: If you will be away on May 20, 1986, contact your City Clerk on or before May 13, 1986 for an absentee ballot application form. A ballot will then be sent to you in the mail. In Kotzebue, ballots will be available at the City Clerk's office. In order to be counted, all absentee ballots must be postmarked by May 20, 1986.

POLLING PLACES:

Ambler Community Building
Buckland Community Building
Community Building

Kiana Kivalina Kobuk

Noatak

City Office City Hall Community Building IRA Building

Noorvik Community Building Selawik City Office Shungnak City Office

POLLING TIMES: 8am to 8pm.

PURPOSE: The Election will be to determine whether or not a borough government should be formed in the NANA region. The question will read:

Shall a first class borough be incorporated within the boundaries of the Northwest Arctic Rural Education Attendance Area and 3,298 square miles that is presently part of the North Slope Borough? (to incorporate means to organize or start a First Class Borough)

A vote:

YES means that a borough will be formed.

NO means that a borough will not be formed.

On the same ballot will be the names of people seeking office in the event that a Borough is formed. The seats are allocated on a population basis and candidates must be a resident of one of those villages. All voters should cast one vote for each seat.

MAYOR

John W. Schaeffer Tommy Sheldon, Sr.

ASSEMBLY:

SEAT A Represents Kiana, Kivalina, Noatak, Noorvik Robert Newlin, Sr.

SEAT B Represents Kiana, Kivalina, Noatak, Noorvik Nettie Allen Charlie Curtis Thomas Pungalik, Sr. Vince Schuerch

SEAT C Represents Kiana, Kivalina, Noatak, Noorvik Enoch Adams, Sr. Wendell Booth, Sr. Raymond Hawley Oscar Sage, Sr. Raymond Stoney SEAT D Represents Ambler, Kobuk, Shungnak Reginald Cleveland Robert Cleveland Sally Lee Curtis

Isaac Douglas

SEAT E Represents Buckland,
Candle, Deering, Selawik
Lloyd Davis, Sr.
Ruth Moto
Taylor Moto, Jr.

Harry Douglas

Willie Thomas

SEAT F Represents Buckland, Candle, Deering, Selawik Miles Cleveland, Sr.

SEAT G Represents Kotzebue Marie Greene Leo Schaeffer, Jr. SEAT H Represents Kotzebue

Chester Ballot Helen Gudmundson May Kenworthy James Pebley

SEAT I Represents Kotzebue Suzy Erlich Arthur Roy Fields, Jr.

Martin Shroyer Daniel Snyder, Jr.

Bill Zachares

SEAT J Represents Kotzebue Percy Ipalook, Jr. Peter Schaeffer John Ward

SEAT K Represents Kotzebue Marci Baker Frank Stein

Each successful candidate must receive at least 40 percent of the votes cast for that seat. In the event that no candidate receives 40 percent, a run-off election will be held in late June between the two candidates that received the highest number of votes. All registered voters in the region will then have an opportunity to vote again for the remaining candidates.

The election results will be certified by the Director of Elections on June 3, 1986. If a borough is formed, the mayor and all assembly members will take office the following Monday, June 9, 1986. The mayor will serve a three-year term. The terms of office for the assembly members will be staggered three year terms, so each year only one third of the members will be seeking reelection. The initial members will have a lottery type drawing to determine whether their seat will be for a one, two, or three year term. All assembly terms in following elections will be for three years.