Five directors elected to Bering Straits board

NOME — Five directors were elected to the Bering Straits Native Corp. board of directors at the annual meeting earlier this month.

They include Eugene Asicksik of Shaktoolik, William Barr of Shishmaref, Frances A. Degnan of Unalakleet, Paul C. Johnson of Unalakleet and Tim Towarak of Unalakleet.

Officers of BSNC include Henry Ivanoff, chairman; Lonnie O'Connor, president; Paul Johnson, first vice president; Z. William Barr, second vice president; Carolyn Michael, secretary; Blanche Walters, treasurer; and Vernon Olson, assistant secretary/treasurer.