Chiefs asks for village council recognition

The Tanana Chiefs Conference (TCC), meeting in the/tribal organization's annual convention in Fairbanks last week, provided strong policy direction for the Interior Athabascan Indian nonprofit corporation on a wide range of issues last week.

Delegates from 43 villages also re-elected TCC President William C. "Spud" Williams to his slope haul road, and once again second two-year term and chose nine members of the corporation's Executive Board.

Tanana Chiefs delegates adopted a resolution calling upon the State of Alaska to recognize the region's village councils as legitimate local, governments, opposed public use of the north

stated that subsistence use of village, state and federal lands near villages should be the top priority use of such lands.

The convention also expressed support for the activities of the Tanana Chiefs' Fish and Game Advisory Committees and the TCC Wildlife and Parks Depart-

Delegates further requested protection against trespass on Native trust lands in a resolution addressed to the Alaska congressional delegation and the Interior Department.

The 43-member board of directors also advocated for full implementation of the Indian Child Welfare Act, a new Federal law which had been sought by the Tanana Chiefs and other Alaska Native and American Indian tribal groups. The law provides for placement of Indian children in Native families under the adoption and foster home process, and provides aid for running Indian child and family service programs.

The TCC convention also named four delegates to represent the region's villages at the statewide White House Conference on Families. Lorraine Felix, from Northway; Marie Haley, Kaltag; Winchell Tichnor, Telida, and Hannah Solomon of Fort Yukon were selected. Additionally, the convention

gave support for federal and state recognition of authority of local Indian governments for planning activities.

"Spud" Williams, in addition to holding the post of president of TCC, was elected to another term as chairman of the executive board

Other officers chosen were Andy Jimmie of Minto, vice president: and Mitch Demientieff of Nenana, as secretarytreasurer of the board.

The huge regional Native organization was decentralized last year into six sub-regions in an effort to bring delivery of TCC services closer to member villages. The executive board was elected with representation from each of the sub-regions.

Elected to one-year board terms were Mae Peter of Fort Yukon, Richard Peters of Holy

Cross, Jerry Isaac of Tanacross and Vern Miller of Wiseman, Pat McCarty of Ruby, David Miller of Takotna, Demientieff and Jimmie were reelected to their

board seats The Tanana Chiefs Conference is one of the oldest tribal organizations in Alaska, and was formally organized as a regional non-profit Native corporation

under Alaska law in 1962