## First Lady names 20 recipients of volunteer awards

IUNEAU — Michael Cowper recently announced 20 recipients of the 1990 First Lady's Volunteer Awards.

The award winners were selected from 116 volunteers nominated by individuals and local organizations throughout the state. They were bonored last month with a private reception and luncheon in Anchorage.

The winners were chosen by a panel of five private citizens.

The awards program is funded by donations of goods and services and monetary contributions. This year, the Sheraton and Westmark hotels donated rooms to house the winners during the weekend of April 28. Alaska Airlines, MarkAir and ERA Aviation donated travel and Alascom sponsored the luncheon.

This year, Mrs. Cowper is paying special tribute to Mrs. Jack M. (Kay) Linton, who helped coordinate the program during part of the Hammond and Sheffield administrations and throughout the Cowper administration.

The 1990 winners include the following:

Sadie Brower Neakok of Barrow: Skeeter Jepson of Kotzebue; Carrol J. Martin of Soldotna; Joy Griffin of Homer; Dr. Dennis Swarner of Kenai; Kathy Amon of Seward; Jackie Fett of Delta Junction: Loreen Steeves of Upper Kalskag; Meg Gaydosik of Fairbanks; Jane MacKinnon and Dr. Doug Weaver of Juneau; Alicia Iden, Linda Johnson, Jim Pate, Pamela Diane Kaniut, Tess Young, Celeste Benson, Fred Walatka, James Crockett and Vivian Dietz-Clark of Anchorage.