

Krukoff joins Tundra Times board

Shareholders of the Eskimo, Indian, Aleut Publishing Co., which publishes the *Tundra Times* met recently for the first time

in a number of years.

After a quorum was established the shareholders voted on membership of the Board of Directors and elected a new member to the board — Agafon Krukoff of The Aleut Corp. We welcome Agafon, and we're convinced he will be a real asset to the

company.

Officers of the board now include: Willie Hensley, chairman; Perry Eaton, vice chairman; Alexandra McClanahan, president; Mike Harper, treasurer; Hilda Woods, secretary; Flossie Chrestman, assistant treasurer; and J.P. Godfrey, assistant secretary. Other board members are Johne Binkley, Roy Ewan, Debbie Fullenwider, Marlene Johnson, Sam Kito, Agafon Krukoff and Jim Palmer.

This board is an outstanding group of people who work very well together. Collectively, the members have ensured that the *Tundra Times* continued to publish, even in its darkest hours. They serve on the board of directors without pay, and they put in long hours of work in addition to their many other responsibilities in

their regular jobs.

The fact that the company was able to put together this shareholders' meeting last month is quite an accomplishment, and it shows just how much progress has been made in putting the paper back on its feet. Meetings had not been held for some time because of the severe financial strain the company faced as a result of its debt load.

Most of the debts have now been paid, and we now have a new board to lead the Tundra Times into its second 25 years of

publishing.

What keeps everyone going — no matter how tough things get — is the example set by Howard Rock, the man who founded this newspaper in 1962. Howard had a dream of a united Alaska Native community, and this newspaper will continue to make every effort to further that dream.

In the meantime, we owe our thanks to the shareholders who were so patient a few years ago during our crisis. We look forward to regular meetings every single year.