ANB/ANS elects officers

The Sitka Alaska Native Brotherhood and Alaska Native Sisterhood held elections on Dec. 12 and had one of the largest turnouts in a long time.

Nominations were open again before elections were held.

Elected were: ANB, president, Frank O. Williams, Jr.; vice president, Gerald Thomas; recording secretary Fred Hope; corresponding secretary, Vesta Dominicks; treasurer, Byron Baty; Sgt. At-Arms (three were elected), Wesley Dick, Paul Willis, and Mick Diamond; Councilman, Dan Mareno, William Brady, Mark Jacobs, Jr., Louis Howard, Sr., Nelson Frank, and Charlie Littlefield.

New ANS president is Virginia Thomas; vice president, Rena Baty; recording secretary Jan Garcia; corresponding secretary Irene Paul; treasurer, Margaret Gross; Sgt.-At-Arms (three were elected), Grace Larsen, Mary Jane Simpson, and Marie Diamond; councilwomen, Jessie Carlson, Isabella Brady, Marie Diamond, Irene Roberts, Henrietta James, Marietta Williams, Betty Allen, and Alfrieda Lang; for Bingo/Welfare, Rich Didrickson, and Ellen Hays; for ANB Cultural Center Board, Frank O. Williams, Jr., Ellen Hays, Rena Baty, Jan Garcia and Isabella Brady.

Installation of officers and Founder's Day is scheduled for Jan. 9, 1984. Next Monday, Dec. 19 will be a regular meeting with main agenda items being finalizing of Christmas activities, and planning for the installation/Founder's Day program.

There will no meetings on Dec. 26 and Jan. 2, 1984.