## Elementary school achievers cited

Twenty-five elementary school students from around Alaska have been chosen to receive the Governor's Student Achievement Award.

The students, all sixthgraders, were selected by a panel of statewide judges from nominations by their teachers based on conduct, study habits and skill, attitude, class participation and other criteria.

"Alaska has always put a premium on education, and I'm glad to see we have so many talented students as a result," Governor Bill Sheffield said in announcing the awards.

The students, their teachers, parents, and other school officials, were hosted by the Governor at a Dec. 12 reception at his Anchorage home where the students will receive their awards. The following day a luncheon was held for the students at an Anchorage hotel.

The students are: Michelle

Hinkle, Soldotna-Kenai Elementary; Norman Blair, Kodiak-St. Mary's School; Kalle Wik, Ambler-Ambler Elementary: Jana Dillinger, Anchor Point-Anchor -Point Elementary: Iver Ohnemus, Cooper Landing-Cooper Landing Elementary: Melinda Burkholder, Anchorage-Willow Crest Elementary; Koya Harry, Homer-Homer Middle School; Scott Os-Anchorage-Creekside trom, Elementary, Jocelyn Scott, Wasilla-Big Lake Elementary: Genevieve Nolan, Anchorage-O'Malley Elementary: Julia Lothrop, Fairbanks-Hunter Elementary; Kimberly Vest, Anchorage-Bayshore Elementary; Callie Kulawik, Anchorage-Rogers Park Elementary; Victoria Cardenas, Anchorage-Airport Heights Elementary; Lisa Sears, Anchorage-Ocean View Elementary; Colleen Kelleher, Anchorage-Susitna Elementary; Crispian Smith, Anchorage-Ocean View Elementary: Sherri Helvie, FairbanksNordale Elementary; Krishna Teague, Sitka-Blatchley Junior High; Joshua Andrews, Juneau-Freshwater Bay School; Vini Samuel, Juneau-Auke Bay Elementary; Wilhelm Egloff, Girdwood-Girdwood Elementary; Lisa Von Bargen, Valdez;
-Herman Hutchens Elementary;
Kathy Milligan, Kotzebue-Kotzebue Elementary; Matthew
Gunner Ione, White MountainWhite Mountain School.

The judges were Lois Bruhn of Fairbanks, Opel McNevish of Sitka, Rosy McDonegh of Anchorage, Florence McOshea of Anchorage, and Bell Benton of Anchorage.