Leask announces winners of AFN President's Awards

Janie Leask, president of the Alaska Federation of Natives, announced the winners of the 1987 AFN President's Awards Saturday.

"The President's Awards recognize Alaska Natives who have demonstrated strong commitment, competence and sensitivity in the areas of education, health and small business and whose accomplishments have improved the opportunities of Alaska Natives in those fields," Leask said. Presented for the first time was the "Roger Lang Youth Leadership" award, named in the memory of the Alaska Native leader, to recognize an outstanding young person of high school or college age. Chosen as the first recipient of this award was Paul Todd Lincoln of White Mountain.

(Continued on Page Ten)

Award winners

(Continued from Page One)

Nominated by White Mountain Native Corp., he is a sophomore at Dartmouth College in New Hampshire, Conn.

During 1987, Lincoln was the Junior National Champion in Biathlon — a combination of cross-country skiing and shooting — and represented the United States in Finland.

Receiving the President's Award for Education was Edna MacLean of Barrow. Nominated by Arctic Slope Regional Corp., MacLean has worked in the education field for nearly 20 years. Currently a special assistant to the Alaska commissioner of education for Native and rural education issues, she previously spent seven years as an associate professor of Inupiaq-Eskimo in the Department of Alaska Programs at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

MacLean has written or contributed to a number of books and publications. She also serves as the chairman on the Inuit Circumpolar Conference Commission of Education, Cultural and Language, a position she has held since 1976.

The President's Award for Small Business was presented to Marge Baker of Kotzebue. Nominated by NANA Regional Corp. and Maniilaq Association, Baker is the owner and operator of Baker Aviation, a flying service she started with her husband in 1964. The mother of five children, she has managed the business since 1974. The business has an air fleet of five aircraft and 13 employees. Baker is active in community service and has served on several boards, including the Kotzebue Electric Association board for about 10 years.

The President's Award for Health was awarded to Robert Singyke of Anchorage. Nominated by the Bristol Bay Health Corpo. and Kawerak, Singyke has been the director of the Alaska Area Native Health Service in Anchorage since 1984.

In this position, Singyke has the responsibility of administering the health services program for over 76,000 Alaska Natives throughout the state. Singyke is committed to developing innovative approaches to providing high quality health services and works with leadership at all levels to ensure their participation in carrying out a total health program.

Andrew Skin of Selawik was the recipient of the Della Keats "Healing Hands" Award. Nominated by NANA Regional Corp. and Maniilaq Association, Skin has served as a traditional healer for the past 25 years and has contributed to the continued existence of the Tribal Doctor Program. Now retired from active service, he still serves on-call as needed.

"I am very proud to present the awards to these outstanding individuals. The collective contributions these individuals have made to their communities is very impressive," Leask said.



Former U.S. Supreme Court Justice Arthur Goldberg delivered the keynote address to the 1987 AFN Annual Convention. Goldberg was the first national counsel for AFN, retained by then President Emil Notti. photo by M.A. Klunber