²¹ Graduate– Teaching Degrees

By MARILYN RICHARDS Twenty one graduates received bachelor of education degrees which were earned under the Alaska Rural Training Corps. The informal ceremonies were held aboard the Riverboat Discovery Friday.

Emil Notti, president of the Alaska Native Foundation addressed the graduates.

Nineteen of the graduates are Native and two are rural residents who chose to specialize in the cross-cultural program. They will be recommended to the Department of Education for elementary teaching certificates.

The ARTTC program was established in 1970 on an experimental basis with the purpose to train Native elementary school teachers. According to Raymond Barnhardt, assistant professor of education at the University of Alaska, a Native teacher ideally would better respond to the needs of a Native child.

A Native teacher would also provide a model of success and status for his Native community so that others might aspire to teaching positions. The Native teacher would also serve as a community leader and bridge the gulf between the Native and non-Native societies.

The graduates completed a four year program in their villages but spent summers on the campuses of Alaska Methodist University at Anchorage and UA Fairbanks. They were enrolled

(Continued on Page 6)

DEGREES.

(Continued from Page 1) for 11 months for each year.

The graduates began at the freshman level and maintained continuous contact with child-ren.

The graduates are Virginia Demmert, Angoon; Nels Alexie, Louise Kelly Britton and Emma Stuart, Bethel; Lulu Nazuruk, Noorvik: Lillian Brendible, Sharon Hudson. Patricia Norton and John Weise, Metlakatla; Pauline Hobson and Larry Hill, Nondalton; Edith Hildebrand and Mary Stickman, Nulato: Ella Kowunna, Alice Weber and Leo Kinneveauk, Point Hope; Lois Huntington, Genevieve Kratzer, Patricia Bowen and Kinda Swenson, Tanana; and Wilbur Bavilla, Togiak.

There are some 30 students remaining in the program at the junior and senior levels. Since 1970 ARTTC was operated by Alaska State Operated Schools in cooperation with the universities. Starting in September, the Alaska Department of Education in cooperation with UA Fairbanks will operate the program.

The university will also be coordinating field centers at Kotzebue, Bethel, Dillingham, Tanana and Fort Yukon.