## **Boochever New Supreme Court Judge**

The Alaska Supreme Court last week announced the election of Justice Robert Boochever as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the State of Alaska for a three year term succeeding that of Justice Jay A. Rabinowitz which expires at the end of September.

Justice Boochever was elected by fellow members of the supreme court in accordance with the Alaska Constitution as amended in 1970, which provides for the election of the chief justice by majority vote of the members of the supreme court.

members of the supreme court. Justice Boochever, who was named Juneau Man of the Year for 1974, was born in New York in 1917. He attended Cornell University School of Law and received his Doctor of Law degree in 1941. He was admitted to the practice of law in New York the same year.

He enlisted in the U.S. Army as a private in 1941 and was discharged following the war as a cantain

captain.

He came to Alaska in 1946 as an Assistant U.S. Attorney in Juneau and then entered private practice the following year, joining the firm of Faulkner, Banfield and Boochever. He gained statewide recognition as a trial lawyer, remaining in private practice until his appointment to the supreme court in 1972 by

Gov. William A. Egan.
Justice Boochever is presently a
member of the Alaska Judicial
Qualifications Commission. He
was president of the Alaska Bar
Association in 1962 and is a past
president of the Juneau Bar
Association. He has previously
served as a director of the
American Judicature Society and
as a Fellow of the American
College of Trial Lawyers.

He has also served as president of the Rotary Club in Juneau, as a Boy Scout troop leader, chairman of the Juneau Chapter of the American Red Cross, twice served as president of the Juneau Chamber of Commerce, and as chairman of the Juneau Planning Commission, Alaska United, the Juneau Chapter of the Explorer's Club, and vice president of the Alaska Chamber of Commerce.

He has also been a member of the Territory of Alaska Development Board, St. Ann's Hospital board, board of directors of the First National Bank of Juneau, and the advisory boad of the National Bank of Alaska.

Justice Boochever will be the fourth person to serve as Chief Justice of the Supreme Court since statehood.

Preceding him in this office were: Buell A. Nesbett, who was appointed chief justice at the time of statehood and served until his retirement in 1970; the late George F. Boney, who served from 1970 until his death in a boating accident in 1972; and Jay A. Rabinowitz, who was elected in September 1972.