BIA Forms Education Advisory

Continuing efforts to involve Alaska's Native people in educational affairs took another step forward during the week of April

21 at Mt. Edgecumbe.

A group of 25 Native leaders representing Advisory School Boards and political organizations throughout the State of Alaska met with Bureau of Indian Affairs administrators and Mt. Edgecumbe school staff.

As preliminary to the work of organizing Education Advisory Committees to serve at the State level and at the Bureau's agency offices in Anchorage, Bethel, Fairbanks, Nome, and Southeast Alaska, the group received presentations and engaged in discussions and recommendations on all phases of educational matters.

The Mt. Edgecumbe Advisory
School Board reported on other
educational leadership training
efforts being provided by the

Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Dr. Clifford Hartman, Alaska's Commissioner of Education, and Warren Tiffany, the BIA's Assistant Area Director (Education), were on hand to assist the group in exploring such areas as the transfer of Bureau schools, the regional high school concept, budget, curriculum, and the roles of boards and advisory groups in education.

The members who were selected by their own Native organizations are:

From Anchorage agency: Flore Lekanof, Spenard; Eunice Neseth, Kodiak; Elia Phillips, Perryville; Eliza Chase, Nunapitchuk; Walter Maillelle, Grayling; Elias Jospeh, Alakanuk; Ivan Michael, Kwethluk.

From Fairbanks agency: Annie Brower, Barrow; Claude Dementief, Galena; Rev. David Solomon, Ft. Yukon; Katherine Harwood, Fairbanks.

From Southeast agency: Theodore Valle, Yakutat; Dick Hotch, Klukwan; May Dailey, Wrangell; Henry Benson, Sitka.

From Nome agency: Vincent Schuerch, Kiana; Charley Okpowruk, Shishmaref, Fred Daniels, Elim.