

The Bering Straits Native Corporation Annual Meeting of Shareholders was held at the Mini-Convention Center in Nome on Saturday, November 5, 1983.

Two hundred shareholders attended the meeting. The rest were represented by proxy.

President Charles Johnson reported that the Corporation was showing a \$3.4 million loss for the 18-month period which this annual financial report covered. He said the corporation would have had a positive cash flow except for the \$3.5 million interest expense for debts incurred on investments made in the late 1970s.

Dan Fondell, Vice President of Land and Resources, reported that approximately one million acres of land out of the 2.25 million acres due has been conveyed by the Bureau of Land Management to the regional and village corporations within the Bering Straits region.

Following discussion on the proxy statement and voting procedures the shareholders voted to amend the By-Laws to change the method of selecting directors so that each village will elect at least one director to the board.

The change in the election procedure was requested by the village corporations at a meeting in January, 1983. The old method was to elect directors in a region-wide election with 5 of the 15 directors elected at each annual meeting.

Under the amended bylaws, each village will elect its own director with the larger village and at-large shareholders (those not enrolled to a village corporation) having a larger representation. Sitnasuak will elect five directors, Unalakleet two, and the atlarge shareholders electing two directors.

The new election will be held within 90 days. The present board has stated that it will voluntarily resign so that shareholders can elect board members under the new by-laws. Most of the present board has indicated that they will run in an election to be held in approximately three months. This change in the by-laws will increase the number of board members from 15 to 24.

The present officers are: Lonnie O'Conner of Sitnasuak, chairman; Charles Johnson of White Mountain, president; Henry Ivanoff of Unalakleet, first vice president; Z. "Bill" Barr of Shishmaref, second vice president; Frances Degnan of Unalakleet, secretary; Blanche Walters of Sitnasuak, treasurer.