Bristol Bay vote draws praise from governor

KOTZEBUE — Journalists from Kotzebue and Fairbanks are among the 1989 winners the Silver Gavel Award from the American Bar Association.

The award is for a video instructional series produced for Alaska high school students, "Our Land, Our Future: The 1991 Amendments to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act."

The series was produced by the Center for Alaska Native Studies, a division of the Northwest Arctic Borough School District, based in Kotzebue.

"Our Land, Our Future," was produced, directed and written by broadcast journalist Susan B. Andrews, as director of Northwest Borough School District's Center for Alaska Native Studies.

The program's narrator is Inupiaq Eskimo Billie Ashcraft-Sundgren, a freelance journalist. John Creed wrote the series' 75-page teacher's guide. Creed is an assistant professor at Chukchi College where he teaches English and journalism.

The program's chief videographer, Curtis Thomas is a news/sports anchor and videographer at KTVF-Channel 11 in Fairbanks.

"Our Land, Our Future" follows a group of five high school students from Northwest Alaska to Washington, D.C., where they interview Alaska's congressional delegation on how the 1991 amendment became law.

Andrews, the program's creator, completed the series in about six months, traveling from Kotzebue to Bethel, Fairbanks, Anchorage, Juneau and Washington, D.C. Among those interviewed were Alaska Native leaders Willie Hensley, president of Regional Corp.; Morris NANA Thompson, Doyon Ltd. president; Willie Kasayulie, chairman of the Alaska Native Coalition; Janie Leask, Alaska Federation of Natives president; John Borbridge, chief lobbyist of the Alaska Native Coalition; Sen. Al Adams, D-Kotzebue; and Mitch Demientieff, Tanana Chiefs Conference president.