## Sportsperson of the Year nominations sought

Aluska Airlines and the Alaska Newspaper Association have announced plans for the fourth annual Alaska Sportsperson of the Year program.

The program allows Alaskans the opportunity to nominate individuals who achieved outstanding sports accomplishments in 1986. Judges will select 10 finalists from among statewide nominations, based on geographic residency within the state.

The judges then determine the one person who will be named 1986 Alaska Sportsperson of the Year.

Over the past three years, the Alaska Sportsperson of the Year has recognized more than 300 Alaskans who have made major contributions to their chosen sport.

In 1985, Anchorage high school runner Doug Herron was chosen in honor of his outstanding achievements in track. Herron, a nationally ranked runner, ran the 800-meter dash in 1 minute and 48.02 seconds, the third fastest time in high school history.

Kris Thorsness, 1984's winner, was the first Alaskan Olympic Gold Medalist. Sixteen-year-old Mara Rabinowitz was the youngest member of the U.S. Junior World Cross-Country ski team in 1983 and was honored as the first Alaska Sportsperson of the Year.

Finalists over the years have included Olympic runner Don Clary, Iditared champions Libby Riddles and Dean Osmar, pro-hockey player Steve Moria, snowmobile racing king John Faeo, sportsfisherman Les Anderson, cross-country runner Kristi Klinnert, two-time Iditaski champion Bob Baker, high school swimmer Alan Chaney, coaches Bob Boudreaux and Peg Gwyther, Eskimo Olympian Louise Charles and many others.

In addition to bringing recognition to the dedication and determination of these individuals, the Alaska Sportsperson of the Year program has been a catalyst for increasing statewide awareness of the opportunities offered by sports in Alaska.

Nominations will be taken through Jan. 30. All Alaskans and others noted for their sporting achievements in Alaska during 1986 are eligible for nomination. Male and female nominees can be athletes, coaches or administrators. Teams are not eligible.

Athletic performance must have taken place between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 1986.

Nominations can include mention of an individual's display of particularly good sportsmanship. References to the individual's prior history of athletic performance and sportsmanship will be taken into account by the judges.

Nominations should be sent to: 1986 Sportsperson of the Year, c/o Evens/Kraft Bean Public Relations, 550 W. Seventh Avc., Suite 1360, Anchorage 99501.

Final judging and announcement of the winner will take place in late

February.

The 1986 Alaska Sportsperson of the Year will be presented with the Denali Award. The award commemorates Walter Harper, an Athabascan Indian who in 1913 was the first person to reach the summit of Mount McKinley.

More information about the 1986 Alaska Sportsperson of the Year may be obtained by calling Terri Thomp-

son at 258-1300.