AFN wrap up

The AFN delegates chose two co-chairmen: Willie Kasayulie and Willie Hensley.

The position provides a chance for the co-chairs to mend and meld rifts among the village corporations and governing bodies, and Regions. The shouting between two groups at one point echoed and reverberated out of State and down Continued to page 10

Award winners

Continued from page 2

the Northwest Coast. Kasayulie is a self made man. He has overcome personal hardship including a house fire. He has strong opinions on government and education. Combined with political expertise and conviction, Kasayulie may open alternative avenues in leadership Natives are seeking.

Congratulations to the AFN President's Award winners: Charlie Jones of Kotzebue (Della Keats award), Judy Franklet of Juneau (education), Sven Haakanson, Sr. of Old Harbor (public service), Virginia and Louie Commack of Kobuk (small business), Donne and Mike Fleagle (parents), Anne Walker (health). The Roger Lang Youth Leadership award is shared by Ana Cooke, of Bethel and the newly crowned Miss National Congress of American Indians, and Rodney "Butch" Lincoln of Kotzebue, a scholar and athlete. Cooke attends Stanford and Lincoln, a new Seawolf

athlete. Cooke attends Stanford and Lincoln, a new Seawolf basketball recruit is enrolled at the University of Alaska/Anchorage.