Villages Switched

The Bureau of Indian Affairs jurisdiction for ten Alaskan villages has been transferred from one Bureau agency to another so that the areas served by the agencies will more closely correspond to those of Regional Corporations established under the Alaskan Native Claims Settlement Act, Marvin L. Franklin, Assistant to the Secretary of the Interior for Indian Affairs, announced today.

The Bureau's jurisdiction for nine villages — Anvik, Grayling, Shageluk, Holy Cross, McGrath, Nikolai, Medfra, Telida, Takotna — will be transferred from the Bethel Agency to the Fairbanks Agency. The jurisdiction for Mentasta will be transferred from the Fairbanks Agency to the Anchorage Agency. Each Agency reports to the Juneau Area Office.