Beistline Joins Commission

COLLEGE-Earl H. Beistline, dean of the College of Earth Sciences and Mineral Industry at the University of Alaska, has been elected to the Commission on Higher Schools of the Northwest Association of Secondary and Higher Schools.

During his forth coming threeyear term on the commission Beistline will be one of 20 educators who will review accreditation of colleges and universities

in the Northwest region.

The commission will send a visiting team to various institutions seeking accreditation. This team will review a school's educational activities and then send a report to the Commission on Higher Schools.

Based on this report the commission will recommend appro-

priate accrediation.

In amking the announcement of Beistline's election, the executive director of the commission said, "It is most impressive to watch this group of outstanding men work so professionally for long hours in the interest of improving higher education."

Beistline is the third member of the University of Alaska to serve on the commission. University President William R. Wood and Don Dafoe, former provost of the Southcentral Regional Center have also served terms on the commission in past years.