Roederer named head of arctic research group

WASHINGTON, D.C. — President Reagan recently named Dr. Juan Roederer of Fairbanks chairman of the Arctic Research Commission, according to Sen. Frank Murkowski.

Roederer, formerly the director of the Geophysical Institute, is a physics professor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. He has held the position of vice chairman of the commission since it was started.

Other members of the commission include Oliver Leavitt, a Barrow resident who is vice president of the Arctic Slope Regional Corp.; Elmer Rasmuson, former mayor of Anchorage who now serves as chairman of the executive committee of the National Bank of Alaska; and Lincoln Washburn, a leading Arctic scientist and former chairman of the Polar Research Board.

The bill to create the commission in 1984 was sponsored by Murkowski.