## Work starts this week

## **Cowper names 38 Alaskans for transition**

Governor-elect Steve Cowper Friday announced the appointment of 38 Alaskans to serve on his Policy Transition Committee.

. The committee, which begins work today in Anchorage, will review the operations of each state department and offer recommendations for increasing efficiency, reducing costs and -for any possible reorganization.

The group also will work closely with three other transition panels, the Steering Committee and the Budget and Personnel Transition Committees. Members of the Personnel Committee will be named today.

be The Policy Transition Committee is divided into six subcommittees. They tinclude subcommittees on resources, general government, public protection, human services and development. A sixth subcommittee will oversee special issues of immediate concern including resident hire, Pacific Rim trade, small business and energy development.

Former Fairbanks state Rep. Mike Bradner will serve as liaison between the Policy Transition Committee and Cowper's Transition Steering Committee. Anchorage attorney Robert Wagstaff is a special advisor to the policy group.

"""Reducing the size of state government while making it work better is a top goal of my administration, and the work of this group will be very important toward that end," Cowper said.

The committee was to meet with Cowper this morning, then set its own meeting schedule. Committee

members, listed by subcommittee include:

Resources, which will review operations of the departments of Natural Resources, Environmental Conservation and Fish and Game.

•Judy Brady of Anchorage, chairman. Brady is executive director of Commonwealth North.

•Dave Cline, Anchorage-based regional vice president of the National Audubon Society.

•Ron Sheardown, Anchorage businessman and vice president and board member of the Alaska Miners Association.

·Bob Blake of Cordova, a commercial fisherman and president of United Fishermen of Alaska.

 Morris Thompson, president and chief executive officer of Doyon Ltd.

•Laurie Adams, Juneau-based senior staff attorney for the Sierra Club Legal Defense Fund.

•Jim Palmer of Anchorage, associate director of government affairs for Standard Alaska Inc.

General Government, which will review operations of the governor's office and the departments of Administration, Revenue and Law.

•Ron Wendte of Ketchikan, chairman. Wendte is a former state representative who currently runs his own business, a fee appraisal service.

 Millard Ingraham, an Anchorage and Fairbanks attorney and former president of the Alaska Bar Association.

•Dick Angel, owner of the Anchorage-based A.L. French Co., a wholesale supplier.

•Joe Henri of Anchorage, president of Southcentral Timber Co. and a former commissioner of the state Department of Administration.

•Bruce Botelho of Juneau, former deputy commissioner of the state Departmnet of Revenue and a former Juneau assemblyman.

 Nancy Groszek, an Anchorage attorney.

•Jim Rhode, an Anchorage economist and former legislative staffer.

 Larry Merculieff of St. Paul, president of Tanadgusix.

Public Protection, which will oversee the operations of the departments of Public Safety, Military Affairs and Labor.

·Jim Sampson of Anchorage, chair-

·Cecilia "Pudge" Kleinkauf of Anchorage, chairman. She is a Univer-

man. Sampson is the business manager and secretary-treasurer of the Alaska State District Council of Laborers. Ruth Lister, executive director of the Fairbanks-based Women In Crisis-Counseling and Assistance.

 Doug Pope, Juneau attorney. John Schaeffer of Kotzebue, mayor of the Northwest Arctic Borough. •Pat Wellington of Anchorage, a former commissioner of the state Department of Public Safety and a former Juneau police chief.

Human Services, which will oversee operations of the department of Health and Social Services, Corrections and Education.

(Continued on Page Twelve)

## Cowper seeks to cut government size

(Continued from Page Eleven)

sity of Alaska-Anchorage associate professor and chairman of UAA's Department of Social Work.

•Gene Peltola, executive director of the Bethel-based nonprofit Association of Village Council Presidents.

•Fred Ali of Anchorage, academic vice chancellor of the university's Community Colleges, Rural Education and Extension.

•Jewel Jones, director of Health and Human Services for the Municipality of Anchorage.

•Sam Demientieff of Fairbanks, board member of Doyon Ltd.

•Carol Merritt, a Fairbanks teacher and board member of the Alaska chapter of the National Education Association.

•Vicki Malone, former executive director of Bethel Social Services Inc.

•Roberta Stein of Anchorage, executive director of Barrier Free Alaska.

**Development**, which will oversee the operations of the departments of Commerce, Community and Regional Affairs and Transportation and Public Facilities.

•Julie Kitka of Anchorage, chair-

man. Kitka is special assistant to the president of the Alaska Federation of Natives.

•Sam Helms, a Fairbanks contractor.

•Bob LeResche, a Juneau investment banker and former commissioner of the state Department of Natural Resources,

•Dale Fox, executive director of the Anchorage-based Alaska Visitor's Association. Special Issues, which will oversee work on several issues of immediate concern including small business, Pacific Rim trade, resident hire and energy development. •Ray Price of Anchorage, chair-

Ray Price of Anchorage, chairman. Price is a former director of Housing Assistance Division of the state Department of Community and Regional Affairs.
Itentity general manager of Chugan Electric Association Inc.
Bob Breeze, an Anchorage attorney.
Thelma Buchholdt of Anchorage, a former state legislator.

 Laura Kelley, a psychology professor at Anchorage Community Col Dave Van Amburg, an Anchorage business consultant.