Capitol Site Comm. Picked

Governor Jay Hammond recently announced his selection of the members of the Capital Site Selection Committee. The appointments will become effective upon each committee member's compliance with the financial disclosure laws.

The Governor named Charles Bettisworth of Ketchikan and Doug Ackley of Juneau as the two members from the southeast district; Louise Kellogg of Palmer, Arlis Sturgulewski of Anchorage, And Dwayne Carlson of Anchorage as the three members from the southcentral district representatives, and State Senator Willie Hensley from Kotzebue as the northwest district member.

The voter approved initiative required the appointment of the members on a non-partisan basis from the four districts in the State. Of the eight committee members appointed recently, three are Democrats, four are Republicans and one has no party. Two of the appointees are women.

Lt. Governor Lowell Thomas, Jr., who was in charge of the selection process said about five persons were considered for every one selected. He said the basis of consideration was "good people and balance."

No first meeting of the committee as been set. That, according to Thomas, is up to them. The committee also has the duty to select its own chairman.