14th Annual Meeting

Sealaska Corp. elects 6 to board

SITKA — Shareholders elected six directors to the Sealaska Corp. Board of Directors at the 14th Annual Meeting, which convened in Sitka Sept. 19.

Elected to the Board of Directors for three-year terms ending in 1990 were:

Charles Carlson of Sitka, commercial fisherman.

•Niles Cesar of Juneau, executive

vice president of the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Corp.

 Raymond Demmert of Ketchikan, retired construction manager.

 Jim Edenso of Bellingham, Wash., financial management consultant.

 Alan Williams of Anchorage, vice president of loans for the Community Enterprise Development Corp.

•Rosita Worl of Juneau, special

assistant to Gov. Steve Cowper.

Byron I. Mallott, Sealaska chief executive officer, said that while the election process this year was more publicly contentious than auail, the vote by the Board of Directors reelecting all officers and the stated desire of the newly elected directors to work together with the whole board

(Continued on Page Five)

Permanent fund approved

(Continued from Page One)

reveals strong and fundamental sup-

port for the corporation.

"I'm really pleased with the overwhelming vote in favor of establishing a Sealaska shareholder permanent fund, which gives the Board of Directors the clear policy direction it sought in placing the proposition before shareholders," Mallott said. "I expect the board will move quickly to establish the fund."

More than 69 percent of the shareholders of Sealaska Corp. were represented at the meeting in person or by proxy, and throughout the day an estimated 400 people attended the meeting in Sitka.

Immediately following the meeting, the Board of Directors met and reelected all officers of the corporation, including Mallott as chief executive officer and Marlene A. Johnson as chairman of the board.

Other officers re-elected are:

Raymond Demmert, vice chairman.

 William M. Howe, president and chief operating officer.

·William F. Strafford, vice presi-



'I'm really pleased with the overwhelming vote in favor of establishing a Sealaska shareholder permanent fund, which gives the Board of Directors the clear policy direction it sought. . . .'

dent finance and treasurer.

 Robert W. Loescher, senior vice president resource management.

 Chris E. McNeil Jr., senior vice president and general counsel.

 Robert Martin Jr., vice president administration.

 Richard P. Harris, vice president resource planning and administration.

 Maxine H. Richert, corporate secretary. Edith E. McHenry, assistant corporate secretary/shareholder services.

Doris Stevens, assistant corporate

secretary/office manager.

Shareholders also approved by more than a 2 to 1 margin a special shareholder resolution which ratified the formation of a shareholder "permanent fund," into which 50 of the proceeds from Net Operating Loss funds would be placed.