Rural students picked for college program

Forty-four college-bound rural Alaska high school students are slated to attend the fifth Rural Alaska Honors Institute June 29-Aug. 7 on the University of Alaska-Fairbanks campus.

The six week intensive academic program for rural students between their junior and senior years in high school is designed to be an early introduction to college. The program is sponsored by UAF.

Students who attend are chosen competitivley based primarly upon their academic achievement in home schools.

This year a special RAHI Selection Committee chose from among 85 applicants. The overall goal of RAHI according to program director Jim Kowalsky is "to promote academic success in college." The program was started principally by UAF Chancellor Patrick O'Rourke and UAF Alaska Native Programs Director Dennis Demmert. A request made in 1982 to O'Rourke and others, to devise a student development program to help stem the high college dropout rate by rural Native students, was made by then AFN leadership, including Willie Hensley, John Sackett, Sam Kito and Frank Ferguson among others.

The RAHL program features instruction to sharpen and build academic skills of participating students, according to Kowalsky.

Required courses taken by all RAHI participants include Math, Writing for College, Public Speaking, ANCSA, Library Skills, College Learning Skills, Team Research Project, College Knowledge (a campus survival course), and Physical Education (beginning swimming instruction).

In addition to the core of required courses, RAHI students each select a career-oriented "college elective" course from these: Education, Introduction to Business Administration, Natural Science, Engineering, and Earth Science.

Core courses are taught by visiting instruction from school districts and UAF staff, and the electives are taught by UAF professors. Courses are taught in small classes, and instructors also tutor students individually during evening study halls.

"We try to give RAHI students an early exposure to college and the types of learning and the demands that will be placed upon them when they're here as actual college students so that they will know exactly what to expect," Kowalsky said, "and not go into shock when they see how different school is on an urban campus from what they are used to at home."

Students who will attend this summers RAHI program on the UAF campus are:

Anne Marie Amarok and Rachel Takak, Martin Olson High School, Golovin; Trudy Anderson, Rachel Dick, McGrath High School; Emanuel Ashby, John Mills, Keith Norton, Noatak Napaaqtugmiut High School; Amelia Barr, Deborah Fields, Dawn Salesky, Diane Schaeffer, Kotzebue High School; Wilma Brown, White Mountain High School; Leo Cholok, Chevak High School; Leo Cholok, Chevak High School; Rebecca R. Derendoff and Sarah Vent, Huslia High School; Amy Eubank, Sand Point High School.

Howard Farley, Jr. and Lynn Fricke, Nome Beltz High School; Kelly Fredson and Ringo Jimmy, Kipnuk High School; Lydia Gusty, Gusty Michael High School, Stony River; Teresa Jolma, Nunamiut High School, Anaktuvuk Pass; Shirley Kagak, Alak High School, Wainwright; Wassillie Kassel, Akula Elitnaurvik High School, Kasigluk; Lisa Kawagley, Arlicaq High School, Akiak; Milan King, Keggatmuit High School, Scammon Bay.

Brian Leal, Grayling (Mt. Edgecumbe High School); Arnold A. Matfay, Perryville High School; Veronica E. Michael, Kwethluk Community School; Jerald E. Miller, Aniak High School; Nastasia Nick, Russian Mission High School; Martin Okitkun, Kotlik High School; Molly Paukan, St. Mary's Catholic High School.

Nina Peter, Peter Evon Memorial High School, Akiachak, Sharon Peterson, Mountain Village High School; Michael Pitka, Beaver (Mount Edgecumbe High School); Michael Williams, Cruikshank High School, Beaver; Robbie Seum, Kiana High School; Bruce Sookiayak, Shaktoolik High School; Galen Swan, McQueen High School, Kivalina; Lisa Jo Thomas, Buckland High School; Mimi Marie Thomas, Fort Yukon High School; Kimberly Ansaknok, Fort Yukon (Cibola High School, Albuquerque); and Miriam Titus, Minto (Nenana High School).