AFN asks for nominations for awards

The Alaska Federation of Natives is now accepting nominations for the 1989 President's Awards, as well as for the AFN Citizen of the Year.

In the past, such Native leaders as John Sackett, Willie Kasayulie, Herman Schroeder, Roger Lang, Frank Degnan, Emil Notti, Howard Rock, Willie Hensley, Paul Tiulana, Roy Ewan, Bryon Mallott and Alice Solomon have been named citizen of the year.



The 1988 AFN Citizen of the Year Award went to Walter Charley, an elder from the Ahtna region.

The Citizen of the Year award is presented at the AFN Convention, which this year is scheduled for Oct. 19-21 at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage. Presentation of the award will take place the afternoon of Oct. 21.

The award publicly recognizes individuals who have devoted a large portion of their lives to the objectives of AFN, including:

- Promoting pride on the part of the Natives of Alaska in their heritage and traditions.
- •Preserving the customs, folklore and art of the Native races.
- Promoting the physical, economic and social well-being of Alaska
 Natives.
- •Discouraging and overcoming racial prejudice and the inequities which such prejudices create.
- Promoting good government by reminding those who govern and those governed of their joint and mutual

responsibilities.

Nominations should include background information on the candidate so that the AFN Board of Directors can have a full profile for the decision.

Nominations may be sent to: AFN, Citizen of the Year Award, 411 West Fourth Ave., Suite 301, Anchorage 99501.

Also being accepted are nominations for the President's Awards, including a new category this year, the President's Award for Public Service, which will be called the Ronald Zimin Memorial Award. Zimin, a village public safety officer from South Naknek, was killed in the line of duty in October 1986.

This year the award will recognize an Alaska Native VPSO who provides a positive role model for his or her community and who fulfills the requirements of his or her position with sensitivity, understanding and fairness. Individuals nominated for this award may be serving active duty as a VPSO or have spent considerable time in such a position.

Other awards include the Parents of

the Year Award, the President's Award for Education, the President's Award for Small Buisness, the President's Award for Health, the Della Keats "Healing Hands" Award and the Roger Lang Youth Leadership Award.

Nominations should be sent to: AFN, Attn: President's Awards, 411 West Fourth Ave., Suite 301, Anchorage 99501.

The deadline for all nominations is Oct. 2.

Those who have questions or comments may call AFN at 274-3611.

Tundra Times