UIC holds

annual meeting

Ukpeavik Inupiat Corporation (UIC), the village corporation in Barrow, held their annual meeting on April 7, 1979. In the election of directors, three incumbent candidates lost their re-election bids and a new president was selected.

Warren Matumeak, Rosabelle Rexford, and Lewis Suvlu were the three incumbents to lose their seats. They were replaced by floor nominees Billy Neakok, Delbert Rexford, and Ronald H. Brower. Lucille Adams and George Ahmoagak were successful in being re-elected.

In the reorganizational meeting held after the shareholders meeting, a new team of officers was selected with Arnold Brower Sr. replacing Lloyd Ahvakana as president of the corporation. Billy Neakok was chosen to be the vice president, Sally Brower was selected secretary and George Ahmoagak will serve as treasurer.

The new officers will serve as the executive committee for the board and they will be joined by Jim Stotts who is the general manager for the firm. George Ahmoagak was chosen to head up UIC construction and Ronald H. Brower was selected to the position of land chief. The accounting and secretarial services are performed by Maggie Ahmoagak and Dora Stotts through a contractual arrangement with Nasuk Ltd.