6 Alaska teachers each to receive grant of \$25,000

Six Alaska educators were named the first recipients of the Commissioner's Recognition Awards, according to Alaska State Board of Education President Barney Gottstein.

The six were selected on the basis of their leadership abilities, professional growth and achievements and commitment to children and excellence in education.

The recipients are:

Paul W. Bowen — geology, math, trades and industry teacher at Petersburg High School in Petersburg City Schools.

 Dora M. Cline — bilingual/bicultural coordinator at Dillingham High School in Dillingham Ci-

ty Schools.

 Grace A. Heacock — third grade teacher at Rosamond Weller Elementary School in Fairbanks North Star Borough Schools.

 Suzanne L. Henning — fifth and sixth grade teacher at Tanana City School in Tanana City School District.

 Larry E. Moye — math teacher in Soldotna High School in Kenai Peninsula Borough Schools.

 Floyd Sucher — principal at Chugiak Elementary School in An-

chorage School District.

Each educator will receive \$25,000 from the Milken Family Foundation of Los Angeles.