

ALASKAN OF THE YEAR – Pioneer pilot Robert Reeve is addressing a large banquet audience in Anchorage last Friday that came to

honor him as the 1972 Alaskan of the Year.

-Photo by LAEL MORGAN

Pioneer Pilot Bob Reeve Named 'Alaskan of the Year'

ANCHORAGE – Robert Reeve, pioneer Alaskan pilot and founder of Reeve Aleutian Airways, has been named "Alaskan of the Year" by the vote of a committee of prominent citizens and representatives of the news media.

A banquet held in his honor last Friday at the Anchorage Westward was packed with hundred of friends and well wishers including such famous bush pilots as Merl "Mudhole" Smith, Owen Meals, Noel Wien, Ray Peterson and Don Sheldon. Also in attendance were four nominees for this year's honors: Dick Borch, president of the Ketchikan Rescue Squad; Judge John Dimond, retired associate justice of the Alaska Supreme Court; Dr. William R. Wood, president of the University of Alaska; and Howard Rock, editor of the Tundra Times.

Reeve was recognized for his outstanding ability and endurance as a bush pilot – "If you'll ride, I'll fly – and for his civic spirit and abilities as a "doer" in the state. Editor Rock was saluted as a man who was "in many respects the voice of the Eskimo and Alaskan Indian people, a respected, reasoned voice of great influence."

Dr. Wood's nomination came through his long work as a leader and builder at the University of Alaska. Dick Borch was recognized as a man who "dedicated himself to saving the lives of (Continued on Page 6)

ALASKAN ...

(Continued from page 1) people in trouble." And Judge Dimond was hailed as "a man of all Alaska."

Proceeds from the banquet go to a scholarship fund for deserving Alaskan residents. This year's winners were Mrs. Carolyn Justina Kalkins of Holy Cross and Agnes Lucille Pete of Bethel.

Mrs. Kalkins is a self supporting mother of six. She is in her junior year at Alaska Methodist University majoring in elementary education and hopes to become a counselor.

Miss Pete is the oldest of six children. A freshman at the University of Alaska, she is president of the U of A Native Group.