Education Board Meets Nome Board

State Board of Education President Mrs. Katherine Hurley; Board Member Mrs. Ruth McLean; Commissioner of Education Dr. Marshall L. Lind; Robert Isaac, Department of Education staff member; and Peter Partnow, Department of Law, met with the Nome School

Board and five representatives of the Nome-Beltz Regional School attendance areas on March 17 in the Nome-Beltz School. The meeting was called to activate the Nome-Beltz Regional School Board.

Nome School Board members Robert Schick, Doris Wilke, Harold Bell, Dennis Corrington and Peter Seeganna were appointed from the city of Nome. Francis Soxie (Unalakleet), Gilbert Karmun (Deering), Walter Nayokpuk (Shishmaref), Willie Wallunga (Gambell) and Ernie Nylin (Elim) were appointed from the area outside the city.

Ruth McLean was appointed from the State Board of Education. The members of the Nome-Beltz Regional School Board were sworn in by attorney Peter Partnow.

Prior to the formal appointments, Commissioner Lind discussed the responsibilities of the new board and Mrs. Hurley reviewed the details of the State Board Executive Order prescribing the Nome-Beltz Regional School and the plan of operation.

The following officers were elected: President, Robert Schick; Vice President, Francis Soxie; and Secretary, Doris Wilke.

The Board then proceeded to act on meeting dates and places, voting procedures, interim funding and a procedure for selecting a chief school administrator.

The Nome-Beltz Regional School Board is unique in that it is the first time a board consisting of city district and rural representatives has been created and delegated extensive administrative authority to govern a regional school as an agent of the State Board of Education.