Satellite service reaches first village group

RCA Alaska Communications Inc. announced Feb. 2, the inauguration of satellite telephone service to the first group of rural villages designated to receive improved communications under Phase II of RCA Alascom's small Earth Station Project.

RCA Alascom crews are scattered throughout the state working to turn up the equipment initially in the villages of Akhiok Allakaket, Arctic Village, Minto, Chalkyitsik, Circle, Holy Cross, Koyukuk, Larsen Bay, Nulato and Shageluk. The telephones in remaining 37 villages will be placed in service during the next several weeks.

Service to the bush villages climaxes the second phase of the Small Earth Station construction program undertaken by RCA Alascom under an agreement with the state of Alaska. In May of 1976 RCA Alascom completed the first phase of its project, installing 20 Small Earth Stations. At least 100 Earth Stations with 15-foot diameter antennas will be installed by the end of the year

to introduce satellite telephone communications in Alaskan communities of 25 or more people.

RCA Alascom started construction on the second group of 48 Earth Stations last August. Villages for the second phase were selected by RCA Alascom and the state office of telecommunications in accordance with recommendations by the Alaska Federation of Natives Telecommunications Committee and the Alaska Area Native Health Service.

Each bush Earth Station will initially be equipped with two circuits. These channels will be used to provide each village with a dial telephone for public use and (in most villages) an emergency medical circuit for use by the Native Health Service.

Foundation work and installation of the antennas have been completed at all 48 sites.

(Continued on Page 16)

Satellite ...

(Continued from Page 1)

Installation of the electronics equipment and initial testing has been completed in 33 villages to date. RCA Alascom engineers are continuing to install and test the electronic equipment needed to run the Earth Station and the telephone in the remaining 15 villages. The equipment will be turned up for service after extensive testing has established its

Small Earth Station locations for the 2977 Phase III part of the project are being finalized with the state and AFN Committee.

reliability.

Phase II Small Earth Station locations are: Akhiok, Arctic Village, Allakaket, Beaver, Cape Pole, Chalkyitsik, Chignik, Chignik Lagoon, Chignik Lake, Chitina, Circle, Eagle Village, Emmonak, False Pass, Holy Cross, Hooper Bay, Hughes, Huslia, Ivanoff Bay, Karluk, Kobuk, Kongiganek, Koyukuk, Kwigillingok, Larsen Bay, Manley Hot Springs, Meshik, Minto, Nelson Lagoon, Newtok, Nightmute, Nikokski, Nuiqsut, Nulato, Old Harbor, Perryville, Pilot Point, Point Baker, Point Hope, Point Lay, Port Alexander Rampart, Ruby, St. Mary's, Shageluk, Stevens Village, Tatitlek and Venetie.