Cowper appoints 13 people to state subsistence panel

JUNEAU — Gov. Steve Cowper recently announced the appointment of 13 Alaskans to the state Commission on Subsistence Use of Fish and Game.

The commission, approved by the Legislature this summer, is charged with reviewing all aspects of state and tederal laws on the subsistence uses of fish, wildlife and other natural resources. The commission must report its findings and make recommendations about changes in those laws to the Legislature no later than Jan. 15, 1993.

Cowper signed the subsistence commission into law July 23 after the Legislature, during a special session this summer, failed to approve a measure that would have given Alaskans the chance to vote on a constitutional amendment and bring Alaska's subsistence laws into compliance with federal law.

The subsistence commission has a total of 15 members representing Native organizations, subsistence users, commercial fishing organizations and sportsmen's groups. Thirteen are appointed by the governor, and two of those are non-voting.

The speaker of the state House and president of the Senate each appoint one non-voting member.

Subsistence commission members appointed by the governor are:

- Bob Loescher of Juneau representing Alaska Native organizations.
- Bill Morgan of Aniak, representing subsistence users.
- Matthew Iya of Nome, representing subsistence users.
- Ralph Gregory of Ketchikan, representing the first judicial district and federal areas.
- Pete Schaeffer of Kotzebue, representing the second judicial district.
- Brad Aga of Larsen Bay, representing the third judicial district.
- Merrit Helferrich of Fairbanks, representing the fourth judicial district.
- Ann Lowe of Sitka, representing the Southeast Regional Fish and Game Council.
- Sam Harbo Jr. of Fairbanks representing sportsmen's organizations.
 - Cheryl Sutton of Soldotna.

- representing commercial fishing interests.
- Sue Entsminger of Tok, representing subxistence users.
- Robin Samuelsen from the state Board of Fisheries (non-voting member).
- Rosemarie Maher, from the state Board of Game (non-voting member).

Commission members are not paid for serving on this board but are eligible to receive per diem and travel expense reimbursements.

Those who want more information may contact the special assistant to the commissioner of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Box 3-2000, Juneau 99802-2000, phone 465-4100.