## Native caucus installs officers

The Anchorage Native Caucus installed new officers on January 3, 1979 during the regular general membership meeting. The following were elected: Sylvia Carlsson, President; Gary Bader, Vice President; Diane Benson, Secretary; Tom Hicklin, Treasurer; and Beatrice Halkett, Sergeant-At-Arms.

New Caucus president, Sylvia Carlsson stated, 'A concerted effort to strengthen the organization is our first priority, and we will continue our efforts throughout the coming year.'

The Anchorage Native Caucus is a local organization, not affiliated with the Alaska Federation of Natives or other regional and village native corporations. "Our primary purpose is advocating for the civil and human rights of Alaskan Natives living in the Anchorage area"

stated Carlsson.

General membership meetings of the caucus are regularly scheduled for the first Wednesday of each month in the conference room at 1057 West Fireweed Lane beginning at 7:30 p.m.