Nominations sought by AFN for Citizen Award

The Board of Directors of the Alaska Federation of Natives Inc. is seeking nominations from individuals as well as villages, regional and statewide Native organizations for the 1987 AFN Citizen of the Year Award.

In the past, these awards have been presented to such distinguished Native leaders as John Sackett, Willie Kasayulie, Herman Schroeder, Roger Lang, Frank Degnan, Emil Notti, Howard Rock, Chief Andrew Isaac, Della Keats, Richard Jansen, Eben Hopson, Willie Hensley, Paul Tiulana, Roy Ewan and Byron Mallott. The 1986 AFN Citizen of the Year Award went to Alice Solomon of Barrow.

The award is presented each year at AFN's Annual Convention. The 1987 Convention is scheduled for Oct. 22-24 at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage. Presentation will take place the afternoon of Saturday, Oct. 24.

(Continued on Page Ten)

AFN asks for nominations

(Continued from Page One)

The presentation of the AFN Citizen of the Year Award provides the Native community with an opportunity to formally and publicly recognize those individuals who have devoted a large portion of their lives to the objectives of AFN as outlined in AFN's Constitution:

 To promote pride on the part of the Natives of Alaska in their heritage and traditions.

 To preserve the customs, folklore and art of the Native races.

 To promote physical, economic and social well-being of Alaska Naives.

 To discourage and overcome racial prejudice and the inequities which such prejudice creates.

 To promote good government by reminding those who govern and those governed of their joint and mutual responsibilities.

Those who would like to nominate an individual for the award, may forward the nomination and a brief paragraph describing the candidate and why the individual should be nominated. It is imperative the background information be sent along with the nomination as the AFN Board of Diectors, when making their decision, need to have the full profile in order to have a basis for their decision.

Nominations must arrive at the AFN offices no later than Oct. 5.

They should be sent to: Alaska Federation of Natives Inc., Citizen of the Year Nomination, 411 West Fourth Ave., Suite 301, Anchorage 99501.

Anyone who has questions may contact AFN at 274-3611.